The Gate of Sorrows

A serial killer hunts in Tokyo’s streets, and a living gargoyle haunts its skies. Who is preying upon whom?

By Miyuki Miyabe | MoreLess about The Gate of Sorrows

Miyuki Miyabe’s debut story, “Warera ga Rinjin no Hanzai” (Our Neighbor’s Crime), won a new writer award in 1987, and since that time she has become one of Japan’s most popular and best-selling authors. Miyabe’s fantasy novel Brave Story won the Batchelder Award for best children’s book in translation from the American Library Association in 2007. The Gate of Sorrows is an adult novel in the same universe as The Book of Heroes (Haikasoru, 2010). Her other works available in English include All She Was Worth, Cross Fire, The Sleeping Dragon, Apparitions, ICO: Castle in the Mist, and more.

The Gate of Sorrows

A series of murders shocks Tokyo’s Shinjuku ward, but Shigenori, a retired police detective, is instead obsessed with a gargoyle that seems to move. College freshman Kotaro launches a web-based investigation of the killer, and comes to find that answers may lie within an abandoned building in the center of Japan’s busiest neighborhood, and beyond the Gate of Sorrows. In this adult sequel to Miyabe’s The Book of Heroes, you will meet monsters from other worlds and ordinary horrors that surpass even supernatural threats.

Buy now

If you like The Gate of Sorrows, VIZ Editors recommend: