Jump to:

Brave Story

A young boy finds his destiny in a world of fantasy.

By Miyuki Miyabe | MoreLess about Brave Story

Miyuki Miyabe’s debut story, “Warera ga Rinjin no Hanzai” (Our Neighbor’s Crime), won a new writer award in 1987, and since that time she has become one of Japan’s most popular and best-selling authors. Miyabe’s fantasy novel Brave Story won the Batchelder Award for best children’s book in translation from the American Library Association in 2007. The Gate of Sorrows is an adult novel in the same universe as The Book of Heroes (Haikasoru, 2010). Her other works available in English include All She Was Worth, Cross Fire, The Sleeping Dragon, Apparitions, ICO: Castle in the Mist, and more.

Brave Story

Young Wataru flees his messed-up life to navigate the magical world of Vision, a land filled with creatures both fierce and friendly. His ultimate destination is the Tower of Destiny where a goddess of fate awaits. Only when he has finished his journey and collected five elusive gemstones will he possess the Demon's Bane--the key that will grant him his most heartfelt wish...the wish to bring his family back together again!

Buy now

If you like Brave Story, VIZ Editors recommend: